Ninja 2: Squatters rights definitely should be abolished

I have two things to say about this. First, when did someone or a group of people breaking into unoccupied houses and living there illegally become a perfectly normal thing? And where are the limits then? Should I open my front door to anyone, should we all have a spare bed and give out spare keys of our apartments? I really don’t think so.

I obviously don’t want to come across as heartless person who doesn’t care about the world’s misery, but come on! Squatters are a problem, and still seeing homeless people in the streets in 2011 is a disgrace. Yes. But I highly doubt that the solution is to watch them occupy one house in November, another one in December and so on, without saying anything. There should be special places  (or more of them) where they could go, more transitional homes, but accepting that anyone could break into my flat when I’m on holidays and coming back only to face a family of 6 happily resting on my couch is a step too far.

Now concerning the fine and jail sentence, it doesn’t make a lot of sense to me and I don’t see how this is going to stop squatters from breaking into properties. Ask someone with no income who lives in the street to give the government £5000 because they’ve been naughty: sure, that’s gonna happen!

Squatters’ rights should be abolished, or at least, measures should be enforced, because I don’t see why I should go through months of legal procedures and spend hundreds or thousands of pounds to be able to get MY house back.

It has become ridiculous, every “offender” is being protected by some sort of laws: the tenant who does not pay rent, the stalker who wants to kill you, and now the squatters who want to use your house as their own. No, I really don’t buy that.

This entry was posted in Ninja 2.

3 comments on “Ninja 2: Squatters rights definitely should be abolished

  1. prgirlswild says:

    I find it very hard not to have an opinion of my own when it comes to this type of subjects, but there is a first for everything….I completely agree with you. There are so many wrong laws that protect people who actually don´t deserve it….

    I do understand that something moral has no chance in a courtroom, where everything relates to laws, but how can any society go forward when dealing with things you´ve wrote about?

    Here´s an interesting quote describing the pre-packadged ´free sprtit´type of thinking of those people who think these type of rights should exist:

    ´Everybody’s going to save something now. Save the trees, save the bees, save the whales, save the snails. And the supreme arrogance? Save the planet! Are these people kidding? ´ – George Carlin

    To sum up, I don´t think I should save or protect anyone while rights like these still exist.

  2. ninjapr says:

    Hi prgirlswild!
    Even though I understand that there is no such thing as intentional homelessness and that for some of them, it constitutes the last choice they have, I agree with you when you say they shouldn’t have rights.
    Again, I wouldn’t want to burgler who broke into my house to be protected by any kind of law and this has gone a step too far.
    Measures, help, support: yes. But rights, I don’t agree.

  3. Grace Kilkenny says:

    Why would you leave your house unattended for so long for a squatter family to arrive. This blog post is stupid and you really have no proper perspective on the squatting situation. When you say more of those places, what places are you talking about. Have you actually done your research? Not sure you really understand the subject but hey, good effort I guess.

Leave a Reply

