Ninja 3: What do my social media profiles say about me?

Facebook

I have always seen Facebook as my most personal form of social media, I keep it private so only my friends can see my content. I always make sure I know everyone of my friends to a good level so feel happy with sharing information with them. My right to privacy is lost once I put information on Facebook therefore I must be careful what is on there and what others can access.

My privacy settings do however allow anyone to see a small version of my profile picture. But what does it say about me?

This picture was taken last Wednesday on a PR society social event, me and Sarah (Ninja 2) can be clearly seen posing for this nice picture together.

Twitter

I use Twitter very differently to Facebook as it’s completely public, anyone can view my tweets and follow me. I generally tweet about day to day happenings and sometimes PR content as I am following various PR agencies and other likeminded PR student from all around the country.

Although you can access more information about me on Twitter, what does my profile picture say about me?

This was taken on a warm sunny day in London where I am outside of a pub having a social glass of wine, watching the world go by.

But what do these two pictures say about me? Both times I am clearly holding a drink, does this mean I’m letting everyone know I like alcohol – which comes with various negative connotations or does it show I like to enjoy a casual drink from time to time. Both pictures are taken from outside, does this hint that I am a smoker?

Is there anything in these pictures that you can see/make assumptions on the type of person I am? Would this affect you deciding whether to hire me over someone else?

Thanks for taking the time to read my blog, I’d love to hear from you so do comment and vote for which Ninja you would hire on the basis of our social media pictures!

#ninjahireme

 

This entry was posted in Ninja 3.

2 comments on “Ninja 3: What do my social media profiles say about me?

  1. prgirlswild says:

    I don’t think drinking from time to time or even smoking could be future obstacles for you to get a job or to be respected as a PR professional If these two activities have no impact on your work. Facebook is a personal not a professional network then why should we pay so much attention on it. Personal and professional lives should be separated in view of the fact we are not celebrities.

  2. ninjapr says:

    The whole point of these blog posts are to show that Facebook is no longer as personal as it used to be. It is clear our future employees are taking extra steps to find out what kind of people we are. Facebook profile pictures are indeed a way of seeing what pictures we are comfortable with the public seeing but reading into the photos content might cause problems for ourselves. If you’re seen drinking too much… maybe you’re a unreliable, loud, excessive drinker that will be constantly hungover at work!… resulting in “you did not get the job”

Leave a Reply

